Birth control issues

Birth control…since my husband and I had been non-Catholic for 15 years we had been practicing contraception. The birth control pill for the first 2 years of our marriage and then barrier methods. Neither one of us knew about Natural Family Planning, or what the Church really teaches about all of this. We were totally trusting what the “world” believes…and it wasn’t doing our marriage any good, that’s for sure. No communication about how many children we would have, no communication about the ebb and flow of fertility cycles and how that affected my moods and behaviors.

When we came back to the Church, we did attend a course on NFP, and it opened a few doors, but mostly we continued in our old habits….and things remained the same. After 6 children and 3 miscarriages we finally got the message of listening to God and what he wanted for our family size. However, medical issues ended my fertility with the surgical removal of my uterus and ovaries. Hmmm.

One of the most alarming bits of information I learned was the fact that the birth control pill can be abortifacient. The spell checker on my computer does not even recognize the word. Most people do not either. Later, I learned that is can be a factor in causing breast cancer. More on that later.

Here is a simple explanation of the abortifacient effect of the birth control pill.

Resources: Natural Family Planning Couple to Couple League Many links of interest from CCLeague

 

 

4 thoughts on “Birth control issues

  1. Sad thing is…most people are in the dark about the “seduction” of satanic intervention to destroy the human race. I too was not convicted about birth control in the seventies. Those were days of discovering new freedoms, feminists rights, free love, and anti-establishment. All that freedom brought me pain, divorce, hysterectomy, and the guilt of sins of impurity. I wasn’t truly convicted until returning to the Church and God explained to me about purity, the woman’s role and the man’s, and His Way is the Truth and the Life. I believe I lost a child also between my two younger sons….never went to the doctor for which may be the reason for the operation. Devil promises freedom but there is only peace and freedom in God’s Blessings and His Truth.

  2. You seems to be an expert in this field, Great post and keep up the great work, my buddy recommended me your blog.

Leave a Reply

